Welcome to SPTHS Page!

Shonto is part of the Navajo Indian Reservation in the northeast corner of Arizona. Located about 20 miles from the Utah/Arizona border, many community members still live in homes with no access to running water or electricity. Most homes are only accessible by dirt roads because of the remoteness of the Shonto Chapter community.

Shonto Preparatory Technology High School was established in 1998 by local visionaries and educators to develop a local secondary institution readily accessible to rural communities, to eliminate prolonged commutes for students, encourage parental involvement and introduce a challenging curriculum to empower local students.

Shonto Preparatory Technology High School has some enrollment requirements and admission is not limited or based on ethnicity, national origin, gender, income level, disability, religion, and language. There are no tuition fees for attending SPTHS. Our school is a small and innovative charter with goals of becoming the premier public high school in this region of the state.

2017-2018 School Year Registration

We are delighted you are interested in enrolling your child at our school!  The following application and information is the responsibility of parent/guardians prior to enrollment.  New/Transfer students will be enrolled when all information is provided and a background check is completed.  Any residential enrollments must have prior approval at SPTHS before enrolling at the residential.

You are required to provide the following documents in person:

SPTHS Enrollment Application (.pdf)

  • Certificate of Indian Blood
  • Up-To-Date Immunization Record
  • Official Birth Certificate
  • Social Security Card
  • Proof of physical address (such as a utility bill or telephone bill)
  • Guardianship Documents (if applicable)

The following documents are needed from the previous school:

  • Copy of Promotion Certificate - Incoming Freshman
  • Exceptional Education Services IEP Documents (if applicable)

Enrollment Criteria:

  • A 2.5 GPA or above is recommended for prospective students.

Suspension/Expulsions and/or any other discipline action handed down by another school must first be completed and cleared with the last school attended before the student is accepted for enrollment.

If the prospective student has a prior court order and/or on probation, all documentation must be provided prior to enrollment.  If documentation is not provided, the student may not enroll at SPTHS.

      

     

 

Fax:  928-672-3504

Ralinda Tate
SPTHS Principal
928-672-3520
rtate@shontoprep.org

Marian Calamity
Administrative Assistant/Registrar
928-672-3516
mcalamity@shontoprep.org

 

17-18 Student/Parent Handbook

17-18 SPTHS Enrollment Application

17-18 Athletic Forms & AIA Information

Monthly Calendar

Infinite Campus Staff Portal

Bell Schedule /.pdf

Library

High School Curriculum

17-18 SPTHS Assessment Testing Calendar

Indian Education Committee (IEC)

       

TEACHERS

Sub
Library/Teacher
ewesling@shontoprep.org

Lance Lane
Social Studies Teacher
llane@shontoprep.org

Kenneth Benally
PE/Health Teacher
Athletic Director
kbenally@shontoprep.org

Harrison Miles
Math Teacher
hmiles@shontoprep.org

Rory Hathale
Art Teacher
rhathale@shontoprep.org

Carlotta Yazzie
Navajo Studies Teacher
cayazzie@shontoprep.org

Sub
Science Teacher

Sub
CTE Teacher

STUDENT SERVICES

Belinda Begaye
Dean of Students
928-672-3562
bbegaye@shontoprep.org

Vacant
Academic Counselor
928-672-3539
Karen Begay
Prevention Specialist
kcbegay@shontoprep.org
Vacant
NPC Classroom Monitor

EXCEPTIONAL STUDENT SERVICES

Justice Beard
ESS Teacher
jubeard@shontoprep.org
Evelyn Dayzie                                                          
ESS Teacher Assistant
edayzie@shontoprep.org                             
.

 

>>>>